krutinaik

FML

In Uncategorized on March 26, 2011 at 1:07 pm

My dad just told me that we might be going to India this December. Why? “To build some social connections”. I kid you not, that was his exact response. I asked him what he meant by that and he said, “we need to start planning for what I’ll do after graduating”. YUP, it’s every girl’s dream to get married the day she graduates, so we’re gonna start planning for it over a year in advance. Someone shoot me already. Sometimes I don’t even know what I am doing or why I’m doing it. I remember having this discussion with Swetha a few years ago, about how an Indian girl doesn’t even have the freedom to breathe because from the day she’s born til the day she dies, she spends her life living for other people. Like, a third of her life is spent living for the parents, a third is spent living for the husband, and another third is spent living and fulfilling the demands of the offspring(s). WHAT THE FUCK? Why must I and why must every other indian born woman have to live for the sake of other individuals? Sadly, this is how it’s always been but I cannot stand it. Ugh.

Okay, I clearly need to calm my hormones down, gonna shower and head over to Panera to eat and take a breather from all this nonsense. Wish I wasn’t working tonight, but it could always be worse, I could be living on the streets and not making any money and/or starving to death. I should be grateful.

Leave a Reply

